Trestle Artist Residency

Upcoming Cycle: July-December 2019
$15 Application Fee

About the Residency: 
This residency is aimed at helping artists find a foothold in the art world while they develop a new body of work as an Trestle Art Space Member. Residents receive a 10% discount on the TAS Membership while getting additional support of 6 months advisory with Jason Stopa or Christina Kelly. Residents are also given the opportunity to exhibit their work at Trestle. Participants receive all benefits of a Trestle Art Space Membership as well as monthly group advisory meetings which include critiques, guest speakers, and studio visits. By participating in this program artists take advantage of networking and community building opportunities in addition to having access to low-cost studio space. The residents give back to the community and get a peek into the administrative end of the art world by volunteering in the gallery or studio for three hours per month. All artists are invited to apply. Applications are accepted twice each year.

Who this residency is ideal for: 
1. Artists developing a new body of work
2. Artists entering or re-entering the art world
3. Artists who have graduated with a BFA or MFA within the past two years (note: this residency is open to all artists, Bachelors/Masters degrees are not required). 

Residency Exhibition Guest Curator:

Part of the Trestle Artist Residency program is the option to participate in an end of year Residency Exhibition with rotating prominent guest curators. The guest curator for the 2019 residency cycle will be Eriola Pira.

About Carmen Hermo:

Eriola Pira is a New York-based art curator and writer. Most recently, she served as the Director of Programs at Art in General and was previously the Program Director and Curator at NARS Foundation. For close to 9 years, she directed the Young Visual Artists Awards--an international artist exchange and New York residency program, in partnership with 11 art organizations in Eastern Europe.

She has curated exhibitions, produced public programming, and lectured across Europe and the US, and worked with such institutions as The Studio Museum in Harlem, Independent Curators International, Exit Art, NURTUREart, BRIC, International Studio and Curatorial Program (ISCP) and Residency Unlimited. As editor and writer, her work has appeared in Guernica Magazine, Bomb Magazine, Huffington Post and Kosovo 2.0, among various catalog essays.